Main menu


Philadelphia Eagles lead NFL with 8 selections for new Pro Bowl games

featured image

The Philadelphia Eagles have the best record in the NFL at 13-1. They also now lead the NFL in invitations to Pro Bowl games.

Eight Eagles players — quarterback Jalen Hurts, wide receiver AJ Brown, forwards Landon Dickerson, Lane Johnson and Jason Kelce, edge Haason Reddick, running back Miles Sanders and cornerback Darius Slay — all made the NFC team in Wednesday.

Five other teams are sending at least five players. Seven members of the Dallas Cowboys and Kansas City Chiefs were invited. The Baltimore Ravens and San Francisco 49ers are represented by six players each, while the Minnesota Vikings had five players.

Pro Bowl teams are determined by combining the votes of three groups: fans, players, and coaches. Miami Dolphins quarterback Tua Tagovailoa received the most fan votes, followed by Dolphins wide receiver Tyreek Hill, Chiefs quarterback Patrick Mahomes, Vikings receiver Justin Jefferson and Chiefs tight end Travis Kelce. All five made their respective teams.

NFC and AFC teams will find a renamed activity week now known as the Pro Bowl Games. The NFL announced in September that it would no longer play a regular football game in the Pro Bowl, opting instead for a series of events that would include several contests of skill and a game of flag football.

The previous format, which dated back to 1951, had been under scrutiny for over a decade as players became increasingly reluctant to subject themselves to the physical bumps that occur during standard games.

The week of the Pro Bowl games will take place in Las Vegas, and the flag football game is scheduled for February 5th. Peyton Manning was named head coach of the AFC, and his brother Eli Manning is head coach of the NFC. Peyton Manning’s Omaha Productions will participate in event programming and promotion.

2023 Pro Bowl rosters
(* denotes initiator)


Quarterbacks: *Patrick Mahomes, Kansas City; Josh Allen, Buffalo; Joe Burrow, Cincinnati

Tight ends: *Travis Kelce, Kansas City; Mark AndrewsBaltimore

Wide receivers: *Tyreek Hill, Miami; *Stefon Diggs, Buffalo; Davante Adams, Las Vegas; Ja’Marr Chase, Cincinnati

Disarm: *Laremy Tunsil, Houston; Terron Armstead, Miami; Orlando Brown, Kansas City

Guards: *Joel Bitonio, Cleveland; *Quenton Nelson, Indianapolis; Joe Thuney, Kansas City

Centers: *Creed Humphrey, Kansas City; Mitch Morse, Buffalo

Back Runners: *Nick Chubb, Cleveland; Josh Jacobs, Las Vegas; Derrick Henry, Tennessee

Full lap: *Patrick Ricard, Baltimore

Defensive ends: *Myles Garrett, Cleveland; *Maxx Crosby, Las Vegas; Trey Hendrickson, Cincinnati

Inside Line Player: *Chris Jones, Kanas City; *Quinnen Williams, New York; Jeffrey Simmons, Tennessee

Outside Linebackers: *Matt Judon, New England; *Khalil Mack, LA Chargers; TJ Watt, Pittsburgh

Inside/Middle Linebackers: *Roquan Smith, Baltimore; CJ Mosley, NY Jets

Sides: * Sauce Gardner, NY Jets; *Pat Surtain II, Denver; Marlon Humphrey, Baltimore; Xavien Howard, Miami

Free security: *Minkah Fitzpatrick, Pittsburgh

Strong security guards: *Derwin James, LA Chargers; Jordan Poyer, Buffalo

Position Marker: Justin TuckerBaltimore

long snapper: Morgan Cox, Tennessee

Punter: Tommy Townsend, Kansas City

Return specialist: Devin Duvernay, Baltimore.

Special team: Justin Hardee, NY Jets


Quarterbacks: *Jalen Hurts, Philadelphia; Geno Smith, Seattle; Kirk Cousins, Minnesota

Tight ends: *George Kittle, San Francisco; TJ Hockenson, Minnesota

Wide receivers: *Justin Jefferson, Minnesota; *AJ Brown, Philadelphia; CeeDee Lamb, Dallas; Terry McLaurin, Washington

Disarm: *Trent Williams, San Francisco; *Lane Johnson, Philadelphia; Tristan Wirfs, Tampa Bay

Guards: *Zack Martin, Dallas; *Landon Dickerson, Philadelphia; Chris Lindstrom, Atlanta

Centers: *Jason Kelce, Philadelphia; Frank Ragnow, Detroit

Back Runners: *Saquon Barkley, NY Giants; Tony Pollard, Dallas; Miles Sanders, Philadelphia

Full lap: *Kyle Juszczyk, San Francisco

Defensive ends: *Nick Bosa, San Francisco; *Brian Burns, Carolina; Demarcus Lawrence, Dallas

Inside Line Player: *Aaron Donald, LA Rams; *Jonathan Allen, Washington; Dexter Lawrence, New York

Outside Linebackers: *Micah Parsons, Dallas; *Za’Darius Smith, Minnesota; Haason Reddick, Philadelphia

Inside/Middle Linebackers: *Fred Warner, San Francisco; Demario Davis, New Orleans

Sides: *Darius Slay, Philadelphia; * Trevon Diggs, Dallas; Tariq Woolen, Seattle; Jaire Alexandre, Green Bay

Free security: *Quadre Diggs, Seattle

Strong security guards: *Baker Buddha, Arizona; Talanoa Hufanga, San Francisco

Position Marker: Jason Myers, Seattle

long snapper: Andrew DePaola, Minnesota

Punter: Tres Way, Wash.

Return specialist: KaVontae Turpin, Dallas

Special team: Jeremy Reaves, Washington